Back to overview

Erik Spiekermann 3rd Gerrit Noordzij Prize 2003

Erik Spiekermann 3rd Gerrit Noordzij Prize 2003

€ 12,00 ( excl. delivery costs )

  • Year :
    The Hague/De Pinte(BE) 2006
  • Language :
  • Design :
    Concept & Design: Jan Willem Stas/Students Type & Media Royal Academy the Hague
  • Pages :
  • Edition :
    Sewn paper-back oblong
  • Editing :
    FontShop Benelux
  • Illustration :
    colour & bl/w

  • "Towards the end of the 1980s Erik's book 'Rhyme and Reason' made an impression on me. It showed an open and honest attitude towards the use of letters, in a way that was new for me. By then i knew how to design typefaces, and i also realized that new typefaces had no chance without a certain open-mindedness towards their design and their use. It is my feeling that Erik Spiekermann contributed a lot here. The FontFont label of FontShop International played a significant role in the general awareness of and openness towards new typographical material. This is something that we take for granted today. But it is something that we have all benefited from, no matter what our place within the typographic community. I proposed Erik Spiekermann as the third winner of the Gerrit Noordzij Prize in recognition of his profound and stimulating contribution to contemporary type design practice." (Fred Smeijers - winner of the second Gerrit Noordzij Prize 2000) Erik Spiekermann (1947) receives this prize for the many typefaces that he has designed, among them FF Meta, ITC Officina and the Berliner Grotesk, but also for his contribution as co-founder of the type publishing and distribution company FontShop International. He is a (board) member of several international organizations, among them ATypI (Association Typographique Internationale) and the Type Directors Club, New York. He teaches typography at the Art Academy in Bremen, and is guest-lecturer at several schools around the world. The Gerrit Noordzij Prize is an initiative of the postgraduate course Type & Media at the Royal Academy of Art in the Hague; it is accompanied by an exhibition, a publication and a "trophy" created by the previous winner. It has just been announced that the Prize for 2006 has been awarded to Tobias Frere-Jones.

© 2018 Bijzondere collecties